Salthill Devon secure 1st Division Status

Salthill Devon   2 - 1 Cobh Ramblers


Salthill win 3-1 on aggregate


A splendid encounter, packed with opportunities, eventually ended with a deserved Salthill Devon success as the Galway outfit avoided relegation to the Championship.


Prompted by the smashing Robbie Porter, who nudged Devon into an eight minute lead, the home side were then forced to deal with a gutsy Cobh Ramblers revival.


Cobh enjoyed plenty of possession in the third quarter and carved chances with Jamie Murphy equalising in the 55th minute.


Devon custodian Ronan Forde made several decent saves during Cobh’s late assault before Devon substitute Ciprian Straut bagged a last gasp winner.

Early on Emlyn Long and Mike Quirke’s charges were in control with man of the match Porter slotted home after only 8 minutes.


The midfielder could have doubled Salthill’s advantage moments later, but crashed a shot wide from just outside the area.


Salthill remained in the ascendancy until the interval, but Dave Hill’s Cobh responded following the break.

Murphy examined Forde’s reflexes within seconds of the restart and Salthill were being forced to defend deep.

Cobh left full Peter Nolan slung over a cross for Murphy, who squeezed a delightful effort into the back of the Salthill net on 55.


There was no shortage of goalmouth incident  as Pierce Donoghue shot wide for Cobh, while Victor Collins failed to convert two gilt edged opportunities.


Republic of Ireland under 19 international Daryl Horgan was immense for Salthill on the right constantly probing, but Colins wasn’t firing in attack.


Forde had to be smart to deny Shane Geasley as the final whistle loomed, but Salthill finished with a flourish.

Collins provided the assist for fellow mid season recruit Straut in stoppage time, though, as Salthill closed the deal.


Salthill Devon: Forde; C Horgan, Geraghty, Whelan, O’Leidhinn; D Horgan, Quirke (Straut, 70), Porter, Gaffney (O’Reilly, 85); McBrien; Collins.


Cobh Ramblers: Deasy; Hastings (Dowling, 62), Collins, Meade, Nolan; Donoghue, O’Shea, O’Hanlon, Spillane (O’Flynn, 72); Murphy, Geasley.


Referee: J Grimes (Dublin).

Website Disclaimer

The information contained on this website is for general information purposes only. The Football Association of Ireland endeavours to keep the information up to date and correct. Fixtures data may change and whilst every effort is made to ensure that the information displayed on this website is correct and up to date, we are not liable for any errors. The Football Association of Ireland takes no responsibility for, and will not be liable for, the website being temporarily unavailable due to technical issues beyond our control.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to manage them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site